fbpx
Loading...
DUI Penalties2018-06-04T09:27:49+00:00

DUI Penalties in Knoxville, Tennessee

The State of Tennessee classified DUI based on the number of DUI convictions an individual has had over the last ten (10) years. If you have no DUI convictions in the last ten (10) years, you are a DUI first. If you had a DUI conviction 9 years ago, you are a DUI second and the State can look back another ten (10) years. If you had another DUI within that ten (10) year period, the State can elevate your charge to the next offense level.

Did you know you can be charged with vehicular assault if you are in an accident and injury someone or child endangerment if a child is injured due to DUI?

It is important to have an experienced DUI attorney on your side because a DUI conviction can follow you for life.

08 (BAC) [55-10-401] [55-10-403]

  • 48 hours up to 11 months, 29 days for offenders in violation of 55-10-401
  • .20 BAC or greater minimum jail time 7 consecutive days
  • License revocation for 1 year – Restricted License available
  • You will be ordered to participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Pay restitution to any person suffering physical injury or personal loss
  • $350-$1,500 fine
  • With towing, bail, attorney, high risk insurance, court costs, school, and reinstatement fees, your first offense average costs could add up to $4,900
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense. Minimum first year costs could exceed $1,000.00
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense
  • Drug and Alcohol Treatment may be required at the judge’s discretion
  • 45 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • $600-$3,500 mandatory fine
  • License revocation for 2 years/Restricted License available
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • You will be ordered to attend an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense
  • Pay restitution to any person suffering personal injury or loss
  • 120 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • $1,100 to $10,000 mandatory fines
  • License revocation for 6 years/Restricted license available
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense
  • Class E Felony
  • 1 Year (365) days of jail time with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
  • $3,000 to $15,000 mandatory fine
  • License revocation for 8 years/Restricted license available
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense

Serious injury to another person by a DUI driver

  • Class D Felony [39-13-106]
  • License revocation from 1 to 5 years according to number of prior offenses
  • Jail time 2 to 12 years according to range [40-35-112]
  • Plus fines and court costs
  • No restricted driver license is available
  • Class D felony if child suffers serious injury [55-10-403] [40-35-112]
  • 2 to 12 years jail time
  • Class B Felony if child death involved
  • 8 to 30 years jail time
  • License revocation

Free Case Evaluation

Contact Collver Law for a free case evaluation. Searching for an attorney is stressful, let Collver Law place your mind at ease through this difficult time.

LET’S GET STARTED

I am here to help answer your questions. Criminal and civil matters can be complicated, let me help inform you of every aspect regarding your case. I take great pride in using my expertise for you and look forward to hearing from you.

Contact Us